Who is Fresh Read?

I am the voice of FRESH READ. So let me tell you who I am, and who are my cohorts in this Blog.

First, I am a lifer. From the earliest years of my life ( I am about to turn 50), my home was a place where the Bible was read. Dad used to read to my brother and me from an illustrated book of Bible stories. I remember my first visit to Sunday School, where Greg, a kid my age, showed me to our class in the lower level of a small church in Washington state. There was a yellow flower pinned onto a bulletin board in that little class room.

There was Mrs. Clark, who had a Bible Club for neighborhood kids. It was shocking to learn there that not everyone goes to heaven. This shock resonated for me for the next decade or so as I wavered in indecision about the big question of life and death. Mrs. Clark also gave us cookies. Her husband drove a Packard with a flying swan hood ornament.

My favorite book of the Bible changes from year to year. For a time it was Ecclesiastes – an odd choice many would say. But I am still quite fond of it's slightly minor key approach to life. For example:

Ecclesiastes 2:24-26 (ESV) There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God, [25] for apart from him who can eat or who can have enjoyment? [26] For to the one who pleases him God has given wisdom and knowledge and joy, but to the sinner he has given the business of gathering and collecting, only to give to one who pleases God. This also is vanity and a striving after wind.

Secondly, for the last 20 years I have been a preacher.
I am the sort of preacher that teaches through the books of scripture. For that reason, my favorite biblical book changed to Mark. Gracious people in Queens, New York and Madison, WI listened to my series on this, possibly the earliest of the Gospels.

Now, my favorite book is Isaiah – which took about two years to work through. If it were possible to find the time, my dream job would be to write a book for pastors on Isaiah. (There is plenty for scholars already. ) I love the use of language by this most literary of the prophets. We preachers could use a little help with bringing this 66 course feast to our people.
Parts of this passage in Isaiah can be found twice at the United Nations, a little known fact we discovered when taking kids on a field trip to the UN. Amazingly one of the sites was on the inscription of a sculpture of a Soviet worker beating his sword into a plow. This was donated by the Soviet Union.

Isaiah 2:2-5 (ESV)
It shall come to pass in the latter days
that the mountain of the house of the Lord
shall be established as the highest of the mountains,
and shall be lifted up above the hills;
and all the nations shall flow to it,
[3] and many peoples shall come, and say:
"Come, let us go up to the mountain of the Lord,
to the house of the God of Jacob,
that he may teach us his ways
and that we may walk in his paths."
For out of Zion shall go the law,
and the word of the Lord from Jerusalem.
[4] He shall judge between the nations,
and shall decide disputes for many peoples;
and they shall beat their swords into plowshares,
and their spears into pruning hooks;
nation shall not lift up sword against nation,
neither shall they learn war anymore.
[5] O house of Jacob,
come, let us walk
in the light of the Lord.

Third, besides being a lifer and a preacher, what you need to know is that I think that the Scriptures speak for themselves. They speak sometimes with force and often in gentleness, sometimes with beauty and often with an untamed wildness.

 

The purpose of FRESH READ is not to promote any one person or any one church. It is simply to encourage the reading of the Scriptures.

Finally, some other writers might be found on FRESH READ. They might be historical friends, like St. Augustine and Martin Luther. They might be current authors. They might be friends of mine who share this love of the word. Those whose names you might recognize will be labeled. The rest of us will remain in the background.

Do you need to know more? Just ask.

2 thoughts on “Who is Fresh Read?

  1. Hi thanks for sending me this web site. I will check in from time to time and add my two cents or is it now a half a cent?

Leave a Reply

