What is in a Name?

The names of the Biblical books are of interest.  In the Hebrew bible, the first word of the book became the name.  Genesis is “Beroshit” which means “In the beginning.”  The English names for the first five books are derived from the Latin translation of the Bible.

Genesis is about Beginnings – the beginning of the Heavens and the Earth, of the human race, of sin and of the story of restoration as Abraham and Sarah are chosen.

Exodus is the story of the Children of Israel leaving the bondage in Egypt.  It also contains many laws and the details of the place of worship.

Leviticus pertains the the concerns of the Levites and the priests who presided over the worship in the Tabernacle, so there are many details about sacrifices.

Numbers contains a lot of census information about the tribes of Israel, as well as several events during the wilderness wanderings.

Deuteronomy means “second law” because the Laws found in Exodus are restated for the generation that would enter the Promised Land after the 40 years of wandering in the desert.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s