ESV Literary Study Bible – Isaiah 63-65

I have been using the ESV Literary Study Bible.  At first I was underwhelmed in that the format does not have a lot of information compared to other study bibles.  However, what I do like is that it is set up for reading.  for example the Lectionary passage for Advent is Isaiah 64:1-9, but the LSB has placed that in the context of two chapters of lament (Is 63, 64) followed by a response from the Lord (Is 65).  This was just enough information for me to see how the parts fit and what general context they address.

“Where are your zeal and might?” 63:15

“O Lord, why do you make us wander from your ways? and harden our heart, so that we fear you not?” 63:17

“Oh that you would rend the heavens and come down, that the mountains would quake in your presence…” 64:1

“Will you keep silent and afflict us so terribly?” 64:12

“I was ready to be sought by house who did not ask for me; I was ready to be found by those who did not seek me.  I said ‘Here am I, here am I.’  to a nation that was not called by my name

I spread out my hands all day long to a rebellious people, who walk in a way not good….” 65:1-2

Seen in this light, these passages remind me of the disputations between Job and his comforters and finally between the Lord and Job.  Isaiah seems to raising a complaint/lament and God seems to be answering. Isaiah says, “Where are you in our distress?”  The Lord answers, “I have been here all along, but you have sought others.”

The other thing is that the paper is rather thin as is the color of the printing ink – so read with a good light!

Leave a Reply

