December 18 – Isaiah 45:21-22

These verses are part of a call to the nations to leave self-created Gods (idols) and draw near to the true living God and his Salvation.

Isaiah 45:21-22

21 Declare what is to be, present it—

let them take counsel together.

Who foretold this long ago,

who declared it from the distant past?

Was it not I, the Lord?

And there is no God apart from me,

a righteous God and a Savior;

there is none but me.

22 “Turn to me and be saved,

all you ends of the earth;

for I am God, and there is no other.

23 By myself I have sworn,

my mouth has uttered in all integrity

a word that will not be revoked:

Before me every knee will bow;

by me every tongue will swear.

For a New Testament passage which takes up that last verse see Philippians 2:4-11

Leave a Reply

