On Rocks, Windows and the Law

This sermonic riff is based on a comment by J. A. Motyer

“For whoever keeps the whole law and yet stumbles at just one point is guilty of breaking all of it.” James 2:10

The Word of God is more like a glass window than it is like a pile of rocks. Suppose I find a large pile of rocks.  It is a big pile with many hundreds of rocks in it.  There I find one rock I do not like.  I don’t like its color or its shape.  So I go, take the rock out of the pile and throw it away as far as I can.  I think, “Now it looks better. No one will miss that one stone.”

Now imagine a window.  I take a stone and strike the glass.  A crack develops and spreads through the whole window and destroys it completely.  I cannot treat the window like a pile of rocks.  The Word of God is like a window.  We must take all of it, not just some part.  If we break one part, we have broken the whole.  So then if I practice favoritism, I have broken the entirety of the Law.

Leave a Reply

