Goldilocks and the Apocalypse

Some read the Letters to the Seven Churches in Revelation 2 and 3 as an outline of the stages of the church through history. That is interesting but there is nothing I find in the text that would suggest that.  It seem to me that you could make any one of the letters fit any stage.  There were false teachers and indifferent believers from the get go, if we judge by the letters of Paul to the churches.

I prefer to consider the letters in light of Goldilocks and the Three Bears.  You remember, she sits in each chair, tries each bowl of porridge and lies on each bed to see if any fit.

It is best for us to “sit” in each letter.  Read first Ephesus, see if the description and the challenge speak to you or your situation.  then try Smyrna, Pergamum and down to the 7th Church.  I’ve had my Ephesus moments, when my first love seemed to be lost somewhere.  I’ve felt weak and poor like Smyrna.  I’ve thought about retiring from the field of battle, and letting some fresh troops come in a “be faithful to the end.”  These letters then speak to me and to my church, not to “those people over there.”

I suppose it is noteworthy that Goldilocks was sleeping away when the bears returned.  We do not want to be sleepers and interlopers when the Lord returns.

 

Leave a Reply

