Look at the Birds – Matthew 6:26

“Look at the birds of the air, they do not sow or reap or store away barns, and yet your heavenly father fees them.  Are you much more valuable than they?”

Our pastor’s group had a day of prayer and so I went off with my bible and sketchbook and was reading in Matthew 6:25-34. This place is a camp on a lake near Madison and it is next to a rather large marsh of cat tails.  So i managed to observe quite a number of birds and in fact saw no little bird barns, looms or combines.

Jesus made extensive use of the natural world, the “2nd book” of revelation in his teaching.  We often to go these places to find inspiration or escape as well.  Though I have quite a number of creatures in my urban back yard, including the rabbits who enjoy my attempts at gardening.

Here is the list of birds I saw that day:   Canadian Geese, Red-wing Black Birds, Mallard and Teal Ducks, Cardinals, Coots, Sand hill Cranes, swallows, brown and tree sparrows, purple finches (they are not purple but red/scarlet) and chickadees.  Coots are duck like birds which are black with white bills; that was a new bird to me.

I also saw some kind of water snake in the marsh, so I decided not to go swimming.

So I went back to make a watercolor sketch.  There are ducks, sandhills and a blackbird if you look closely.

One thought on “Look at the Birds – Matthew 6:26

Leave a Reply

