Great Verses in Funny Places

lone-flowerSometimes memorable verses are found in the oddest places.

A great affirmation of God’s faithful committed love is found in the book of Lamentations and in a chapter that is a very grim description of the fallen state of Jerusalem after it fell captive to the Babylonian Empire.  Lamentations 3:23 is the source for the great hymn, “Great is Thy Faithfulness.”

16 He has made my teeth grind on gravel,
and made me cower in ashes;
17 my soul is bereft of peace;
I have forgotten what happiness is;
18 so I say, “My endurance has perished;
so has my hope from the Lord.”

19 Remember my affliction and my wanderings,
the wormwood and the gall!
20 My soul continually remembers it
and is bowed down within me.
21 But this I call to mind,
and therefore I have hope:

22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
23 they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
24 “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
“therefore I will hope in him.”

A great verse on the work of Christ in the Gospel is found in a message on financial giving.  Paul in 2 Corinthians 8 and 9 is urging the church there to give toward those in need in Jerusalem, the mother church.  There he speaks of Christ becoming poor for us.  2 Corinthians 8:9

For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ,

 that though he was rich,

yet for your sake he became poor, 

so that you through his poverty might become rich.

What is a nice verse like you doing in a neighborhood like that?

One thought on “Great Verses in Funny Places

  1. Caro Ico,O que vc sabe das atualizacoes da Ferrari para o GP de Valencia ?Realmente eles terao quase um novo carro ?Como vc sentiu o clima na Redbull nesse fim de semana ?Outra pergunta , como anda a relacao das equipes irmas , Redbull ?Existe ainda alguma influencia da Irmao Maior a irma cacula ?E o Helmut Marko ?ele eh um cara estilo Berger ou eh uma mala ?aadnco,Fernabro

Leave a Reply

