Constructing a Psalm of Praise

Westerman(This assignment was developed from “The Psalms: Structure, Content & Message”, Claus Westermann, Augsburg, 1980.  Last week we look a the psalms of individual lament, here we consider psalms of praise.  Our goal is to construct our own just in time for Thanksgiving.)  Download here – Psalm of Praise

The Individual song of Lament (we studied last week) usually ends with a promise to praise the Lord.  E.g.  Psalm 13:6

“I will sing the Lord’s praise,

For he has been good to me.”

            Psalms of Praise by individuals are common in the Psalms.  They tend to take up where the lament left off.  The Sadness is turned to Gladness.

Structure:

I. Introduction:  e.g. Psalm 30:1

“I will exalt you, Lord, for you lifted me out of the depths..”

II. A summary of what has happened: e.g. Psalm 31:2-3

“…You, Lord, brought me up from the realm of the dead…”

III. A testimony to God’s action: the trouble faced and the answer given. There is a sense of joy and peace because of God’s action. e.g Psalm 30:4-11

“Sing praises to the Lord, you his faithful people….”

IV.  A promise to praise  e.g. Ps 30:12

“Lord my God, I will praise you forever.”

 Assignment: Construct a Psalm of Thanksgiving (I, II and IV can be one sentence)

I.

God is Good, all the Time.

All the Time, God is Good.

II.

 

III.

 

 

IV.

Leave a Reply

