Advent Poem – “The Nativity”

mary

I have carved a few nativity figures.  The Nativity scene as we know and celebrate it has its roots in the ministry of St. Francis.  His love of nature and animals has made some impact on our Christmas decorations at least.

In this poem, C. S. Lewis imagined the story through the eyes of the creatures of the nativity.

“The Nativity” –  C. S. Lewis

Among the oxen (like an ox I’m slow)

I see a glory in the stable grow

Which, with the ox’s dullness might at length

Give me an ox’s strength

 

Among the asses (stubborn I as they)

I see my Savior where I looked for hay;

So may my beastlike folly learn at least

The patience of a beast.

 

Among the sheep (I like a sheep have strayed)

I watch the manger where my Lord is laid;

Oh that my baa-ing nature would win thence

Some wooly innocence!

Leave a Reply

