Conversations – part 1

geislerI am using “Conversational Evangelism: how to listen and speak so you can be heard” by Norman and David Geisler in the adult class.  The first class was on the importance of listening.  I developed this worksheet from their book.  Take the quiz!

The authors say that we need to develop skills of listening.  They indicate that  there are four kinds of contradictions in what people say.

  • Belief & Heart: Their beliefs contradict their heart’s desire. (H)
  • Belief & Behavior: Their beliefs contradict their behavior. (B)
  • Belief & Mind: They hold contractor beliefs (M)
  • Belief & Logic: They believe something illogical. (L)

Indicate below by the letters (H, B, M or L) what kind of sour note is involved below.

___ “There is no absolute truth; everything is relative.”

___  “I long to achieve Nirvana, where I will lose all my identity.”

___   “I believe in survival of the fittest, but I try to life a good life.”

___  “Always avoid making absolute statements.”

___   A car with a Darwin Fish and a “World Peace” bumper sticker.

___ “I believe in Jesus and I hope I will go to heaven.”

___ The law does not allow the idea of “tradition” to define marriage.

___ “Dogma causes war; we should all accept each other.”

___ “I worship at this image of Gaia, because she created us.”

___ “Community is really important to me.  I have to skip church to make snacks for the packer game.”

___ “I believe in academic freedom, but no Religious groups should be allowed on campus.”

___ “All people are basically good, but our economic system is filled with greed from top to bottom.”

___ “The bible is God’s word, but some parts, like Paul talking about women, are just wrong.”

___ “I am a Marxist and I also believe we cannot follow the teachings of  dead white men.”

___ A car with these bumper stickers:  Keep your Laws off my body; Outlaw Sugar.

Leave a Reply

